You are here

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors exists to ensure that the mission of the Presbyterian Historical Society--to collect, preserve, and share our history--is achieved in the most effective and efficient manner in support of the mission of the PC(USA) and in faithfulness to God's call.

The Board of Directors performs that mission as committed stewards anticipating changing environments by:

  • setting strategic directions and measuring effectiveness and outcomes,
  • providing oversight and accountability to the church at large,
  • ensuring financial stability, and
  • serving as advocates for internal and external stakeholders.

The Board is comprised of up to twenty four members who are elected to four-year terms by the Committee on the Office of the General Assembly (COGA) and confirmed by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).

PHS Board Directors, November 2016

Board Directors of the Presbyterian Historical Society:

Class of 2018

George Abdo (Pasadena, CA)--Board Chair

Joan Bergsteinsson (Radnor, PA)

Ellen Clark Clémot (Metuchen, NJ)

Margaret Elliott (Kernersville, NC)--COGA Liaison

Steve Grace (Beulah, MI)

William L. Leonard (Philadelphia, PA)

Robert W. Maggs Jr. (Pittsford, NY)

Class of 2019

Jane A. Carl (Birmingham, AL)

Ernest Higginbotham (Dallas, TX)

William Marshall (Lexington, KY)

Class of 2020

Cathy Criss Adams (Birmingham, AL)

Class of 2021

Ben Chandler (Versailles, KY)

Sherry Jones (Natchez, MS)

Michael Livingston (Trenton, NJ)

Class of 2022

William Yoo (Decatur, GA)